Just as you would avoid wheat and rye. However, if you do not have celiac disease or a gluten allergy — but still react to wheat, spelt may work for you. See our post, What is Spelt? For all of the details about the ancient grain of spelt. For more about the gluten in spelt, read on. There are many reasons why spelt tends to be less reactive than wheat. Spelt is closely related to wheat, but is genetically different. The quantities and types of proteins like gluten and carbohydrates of spelt differ from those found in wheat. So spelt has a unique nutritional profile. Further, the molecular structure of the gluten protein found in spelt is different than that of wheat. Even though the FDA has classified spelt as wheat, this ancient grain is significantly different — and much better for you — than its modern commercialized cousin.
What happened in ? Because they are wheat! Spelt is an ancient grain that is a sub-species of wheat. People who are allergic to wheat probably cannot tolerate spelt and should avoid it, although some wheat-intolerant people say that they are able to tolerate spelt. I knew it! Spelt is wheat! Thank you for reminding people of this. She also cited rye bread as an acceptable alternative for celiacs! I am distressed that not only did they give this ignorant woman air time, but that she apparently makes her living counseling people with special dietary needs. Thank you, Alison, for being such a consistent voice of reason. That woman on the radio was not ignorant.
Spelt contains gluten. While people now understand the autoimmune disease, and gluten-free products are readily available, the idea that gluten could be responsible for myriad health problems has grown out of control, says Fasano. My daughter has this, but is not celiac. The Differences Between Spelt and Wheat There are many reasons why spelt tends to be less reactive than wheat. I am still having issues all I have been told is to do the fob map diet which has been a rollercoaster from hell as I can not seem to complete the elimination stage. Gluten is the name for the mixture of gliadin and glutenin proteins found in grains like wheat, spelt, barley and rye. I am distressed that not only did they give this ignorant woman air time, but that she apparently makes her living counseling people with special dietary needs.